Feedback / Suggestions

About University

About University

     The Government of Karnataka has notified the establishment of Bengaluru North University by trifurcating the erstwhile Bangalore University through its University Gazette Notification dated: 13-08-2015. The Territorial Jurisdiction of Bengaluru North University covers all the Legislative Assembly constituencies of Kolar District; Kolar P.G.Center; Chikkaballapur District; C.V.Ramannagar, K.R.Puram, Mahadevpura, Pulikeshinagar and Sarvagnanagar of Bangalore Urban District and Hosakote, Devanahalli and Doddaballapur Legislative Constituencies of Bangalore Rural District.

      Bengaluru North University (BNU) is a state university located in Tama ka, near NH 75 in Kolar, Karnataka, India. The university was established in 2017 by the Government of Karnataka through the Karnataka State Universities(Amendment) Act, 2015 trifurcating Bangalore University by creating Bengaluru North University and Bengaluru Central University. The university was inaugurated on 21 September 2017 and T.D.Kemparaju, formerly Registrar of Mangalore University was appointed Vice-Chancellor.


     In 2009 a committee submitted a report recommending trifurcating Bangalore University, which had over 600 affiliated colleges. In 2012, C. T. Ravi, the Minister For Higher Education, Government of Karnataka, announced plans to bifurcate 300 colleges out of the university by creating Bengaluru North University. Requests to following the original recommendation or even create four universities were made. In May 2015 the government announced it will follow the original recommendation and create Bengaluru NortUniversity and Bengaluru Central University, with about 200 colleges assigned to each of them. The Bill was passed in July 2015 and the university was inaugurated on 21 September 2017 However, as of 18 October 2017, no funds were transferred to the university from the government.


      The university has 210 affiliated colleges. Affiliation to the three universities is based on Karnataka Legislative Assembly constituencies.BNU affiliating all colleges under Srinivaspur, Mulbagal, KGF,Bangarpet, Kolar and Malur Assembly constituencies in Kolar district;K R Puram, Pulikeshinagar, Sarvagnanagar, C V Raman Nagar and Mahadevapura Assembly constituencies in Bengaluru Urban district,Gauribidanur, Bagepalli, Chikkaballapur, Sidlaghatta and Chintamani Assembly constituencies in Chikkaballapur district,Devanahalli, Doddaballapur, and Hoskote Assembly constituencies in BengaluruRural district.


       The university will operate for academic year 2017–18 from temporary offices in the campus of Karnataka State Open University at Tamaka on the outskirts of Kolar. A permanent campus will be constructed at Amaravathi village in Chickballapur district.

Last Updated: 30-01-2023 12:03 PM Updated By: Admin

Disclaimer :

Please note that this page also provides links to the websites / web pages of Govt. Ministries/Departments/Organisations.The content of these websites are owned by the respective organisations and they may be contacted for any further information or suggestion

Website Policies

  • Copyright Policy
  • Hyperlinking Policy
  • Security Policy
  • Terms & Conditions
  • Privacy Policy
  • Help
  • Screen Reader Access
  • Guidelines


  • Last Updated​ :
  • Visitors Counter :
  • Version :
Designed, Developed and Hosted by: Center for e-Governance - Web Portal, Government of Karnataka © 2024, All Rights Reserved.

Best viewed in Chrome v-87.0.4280.141, Microsoft Edge v-87.0.664.75, Firefox -v-83.0 Browsers. Resolution : 1280x800 to 1920x1080